Report of Autonomy Seminar on "Recent Advances in Chemical Sciences"

The inaugural session of mthe Autonomy Seminar on "Recent Advances in Chemical Sciences" commenced on 18th January 2025 at 11.00 am in M. S. Auditorium of the College. Dr. Sangita Misra, Principal, Prof (Dr.) Arun Kumar Padhy, Professor & Head Department of Chemistry, Central University of Jharkhand, Ranchi, Dr. Mamata Mohapatra, Sr. Principal Scientist, Hydro & Electrometallurgy, CSIR-IMMT, Bhubaneswar, Dr. Asit Parija, Reader & Head, Department of Chemistry and Mrs. Rina Swain, Reader in Chemistry were the members present on the dias. The meeting was chaired by Dr. Sangita Misra. The meeting started lighting of lamp and offering flower to Lord Jagannath. The Principal welcomed the resource persons present on the dias. She presented a bird's eye view of the College, regarding how the College has evolved from a sapling to a large banyan tree with the passing of time. Dr. Asit Parija presented the theme of the Autonomy Seminar and introduced the members present on dias. The two resource persons Prof Padhy and Dr. Mohapatra were felicitated by the Principal. The felicitation programme was organised by Ms. Chandini Sahoo, Lecturer in Chemistry and Ms. Shriya Sakul Bal, Lecturer in Chemistry.

Prof. Arun Kumar Padhy, presented his lecture on "1-Hydroxy-2,4,5-Trisubstituted Imidazole: An Insight" by power point mode. Some UG and PG students were curious about the applications of trisubstituted imidazole, which was addressed by Dr. Padhy to their satisfaction. Dr. Mamata Mohapatra presented her lecture on "Understanding carbonation process for Critical Metal Recovery: Method to sequester carbon" by ppt mode. She presented her lecture in a simplified way. The students were curious to know about metal recovery by other methods and about the economy of the process. Dr. Mohapatra answered them to their satisfaction.

There were 325 students of both UG and PG along with 22 faculty members present in the seminar. The students and faculty members were from Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Botany and Zoology departments. The meeting ended with vote of thanks by Mrs. Rina Swain.

ISBN 978-93-342-0356-1





ISBN 978-93-342-0356-1







ISBN 978-93-342-0356-1





Dr. Asit Parija

Reader & Head,

Department of Chemistry